Call for 2018 MWHF Nominations

Categories: Other

Since 1987, the Marin Women’s Hall of Fame has called on the public to nominate notable Marin women for induction. Each year, five women are selected from more than 100 nominations for the coveted honor that publicly commemorates the achievements of Marin women, preserves their stories, educates the public on their contributions, and inspires the continued achievements of women and girls. Nominations will be accepted online only September 1 – October 15, 2017 at

Marin County must be the nominee’s primary residence to qualify for induction, although past nominees have made contributions across the world, and even in outer space. Posthumous nominations are accepted. Articles, a letter of support from community members, and other materials can be included with the nomination.

YWCA’s Executive Director Jane Winter notes the importance of the hall of fame in today’s political and social climate. “America is at yet another crossroads in history that may determine for decades to come the status of women and minorities in this country. We can choose a path of hatred and control, or rise up to demand a country based on equity for all. YWCA San Francisco & Marin is proud to steward the Marin Women’s Hall of Fame, a program that celebrates the women of all colors and backgrounds who, as agents of progressive change, make up the essence of the Marin County we all know and love.”

MWHF Honorees include noted author Isabel Allende, environmental activist Phyllis Faber, filmmaker and social change agent Jennifer Siebel Newsom, educator and community activist Bettie Hodges, elected official Barbara Boxer, athlete Rosie Casals, college president Sr. Samuel Conlan, and theater aficionado Ann Brebner.

Five women will be selected for induction into the Marin Women’s Hall of Fame following tradition on the last Thursday of Women’s History month, Thursday March 29, 2018 at Peacock Gap in San Rafael.

Fun Facts About the Marin Women’s Hall of Fame:

  • Honoree who has traveled furthest – Dr. Millie Hughes-Fulford was selected as a payload specialist by NASA in January 1983 and flew in June 1991 aboard STS-40 Spacelab Life Sciences (SLS 1), the first Spacelab mission dedicated to biomedical studies. The SLS-1 mission flew over 3.2 million miles in 146 orbits.
  • First born honoree – Louise Arner Boyd (September 16, 1887 – September 14, 1972) was an American explorer of Greenland and the Artic, who wrote extensively of her explorations, and whose expertise of World War II strategic areas was utilized by the U.S. Federal Government.
  • Organization most associated with Honorees – Dominican President Sr. Samuel Conlan, O.P. was inducted in 1995, but Ann Brebner, who moved the Marin Shakespeare Festival to campus in the late 60’s, was inducted in 1989. To date 10 honorees are associated with Dominican University of California as teachers, administrators, strategic partners, and alumnae.


Marin Women’s Hall of Fame is a program of

YWCA San Francisco & Marin

4380 Redwood Highway, San Rafael, CA 94903